Skip to content

Unimaginable Debt Relief!

October 30, 2012

The other day, as we were reading our Bibles together during our daily Bible Studies, Mary Magdalene’s story touched me in the deepest way.  It’s odd, as I have heard the story many times through out my life and have read Luke’s account in chapter 7 before.  But it was the words of our Savior that truly reached into my soul and gave it a good squeeze.  Tears flowed as I realized that the depth of His forgiveness is what spurns me on in my ever-deepening love for Him.  His love for a pitiful sinner like me, is so beautiful, and so merciful, that I was brought to tears by His words to Simon, a Pharisee.

You see, Mary was a prostitute.  Later on in Luke chapter 8, verse 2, Luke explains that Mary had been possessed by SEVEN demons!!  Jesus healed her and she followed Him for the rest of His short life.

A pharisee named Simon had invited Jesus to dine with him in his home, so Jesus accepted the invitation.  Mary heard that Jesus was in the area and rushed over in hopes to see this man that so many had spoken so highly of.  When Mary first encountered Jesus, she broke down in tears at His feet.  His majesty must’ve been so awesome to behold in person!  She wiped her tears from his feet with her own hair.  This truly creates a beautiful, humble picture, but all the pharisee could see was a woman of ill-repute touching this man who many claimed to be a prophet.  Simon, the pharisee, was beside himself with disgust!    He felt like Jesus should’ve known the kind of woman she was.  (of course, He did, but Jesus loves everyone, especially sinners!)

Mary then did something even more unbelievable in the eyes of Simon.  She poured her expensive fragrance oil upon Jesus’ feet and kissed the Messiah’s feet over and over.  Simon saw this as an incredulous waste and this woman’s questionable behavior disturbed him, for he most likely was very careful to follow the Laws of Moses to a tee, as most Pharisees were.

He was  so inflamed by this woman’s actions that he could not hide his thoughts of disgust from the Lord.   (NLT Luke 7:39  When the Pharisee who had invited him saw this, he said to himself, “If this man were a prophet, he would know what kind of woman is touching him.”)

Jesus knew his thoughts and responded (and what Jesus said to Simon is what drew tears from my own eyes).  (v. 41)  Jesus told him this story, “A man loaned money to two people—500 pieces of silver to one and 50 pieces of silver to the other. (42)  But neither of them could repay him, so he kindly forgave them both, cancelling their debts.  Who do you suppose loved him more after that?”

Well let me tell you!  God gave me life through my mother and father.  I chose to abuse life over and over, knowing very well that I was sinning.  I sinned horribly, breaking many of the 10 commandments.  If you’ve read “Why I am blogging”, then you only know a fraction of my sin, but you also know that the forgiveness offered me for my sin was truly overwhelming to me.  I did not deserve to have my debts (sins) forgiven, for they were many, but God proved faithful to His word and through the sacrifice of Jesus’ life on the cross.  His forgiveness was the ultimate healing experience.

Mary Magdalene was no different in the eyes of the Lord than I must be.  Full of sin, hopeless scum in the eyes of the world.  I was scum in my own eyes, so I can only imagine what others thought of me!  But truly, all that mattered is what the Lord thought of me.  He loves His favorite creations (us humans).

When I received His forgiveness and Love, even though I had completely broke His Laws, I could not contain the overwhelming love I had for Him in return.  I began writing songs about this amazing Love…although I never can seem to truly define the depths of it.  All I know is I feel forever indebted to Him for the huge debts of mine that He so eagerly forgave!

I experienced an unimaginable relief upon having my slate wiped clean!  His blood washes all our sins away, as far as the east is from the west!  Sin is all equal in the eyes of the Lord and it is detestable in His eyes and He cannot even look upon a sinner (Habakkuk 1:13) who has not been covered in righteousness through the blood of Jesus.  That is why it is so important to ask Jesus to be your Savior!  You have to admit that you believe Jesus is the one and only true Son of the Living God, and confess your sins to Him and ask for forgiveness.

Mary was forgiven of her sins.  She was free from the bondage of demons.  Here is where it gets really unusual.  We haven’t been taught much about demons or possession, so many think that they are completely immune to demon possession, or that such things only happened while Jesus walked the earth.  Through my studies, I have come to the conclusion that demon possession is very wide-spread today.  The only difference is that it’s been covered up by a plethora of excuses and maladies.  I don’t want to cover that topic right now, maybe I’ll share my thoughts and convictions on the subject tomorrow, Halloween…a perfect time to expose the ugly demons for who they really are.

Today I just want you to marvel on the ability of God to forgive every sin.  And marvel at How Incredibly Great His Love IS for YOU and for ME!  What we humans consider the worst of sins are equal with the little white lies we tell, no lie.  If you haven’t experienced the amazing grace found within being forgiven through the power of the blood of Christ, there is no time like today to come to the throne and ask for the Lord to come into your heart and life!

The penalty of sin is death.   What the Lord Jesus Christ has offered us all, through His death on the cross, is eternal life, forgiveness and a love so great and unimaginable, I may never find the proper words to describe it.  This love becomes a part of you.  You will walk in Love, sharing this precious gift with others.  Offering healing where there is pain, joy, where there is sorrow.  Quite the endless gift to share, let me tell you.  God will use you in mighty ways if you open your heart up and invite Him in.  You are trading your old life in for a new optimum life with Jesus.  So what are you waiting for?

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. Wow, I am blown away by this blog posting sister. Just blown away. You really are pouring your heart and soul into your blog. May the Lord bless you and bless your minister sister.

  2. “….All I know is I feel forever indebted to Him for the huge debts of mine that He so eagerly forgave!”

    This is the line that really quenched my heart. As if some unimaginable pain stopped all my blood circulation through the best arteries. Yes, He is so kind that he forgives all our wrongdoings and moreover, the most blemished ones. But I often forget Him in my good days. I forget all those gloomy days when I had called Him severely for help but didn’t remember when in good days. I don’t just get time to read these incredible stories of the Almighty. But after a good period I came across this post that really gave a great shake to my poor soul..

    • I am glad the words put on my heart gave yours a jump-start! May God bless you, Marc Brown!

Leave a Reply

