Skip to content

Frozen in Time

January 8, 2013

This morning, as I weeded through the past few days’ worth of emails, I ran across a bittersweet message from my cousin.  Her daughter, our beloved “Belle” would’ve turned 26 on the 6th of this month…had it really been 8 years?  And with that email, my dearly departed little cousin, who passed away due to a tragic car accident, went from the promising, blossoming 18 year old, whom she has remained for eight years, in my heart and mind,  to a successfully established, stunning 26 year old.

So many questions flooded my mind.  Would she be married?  Would she have children of her own?  What career path would she have chosen?  Would she still be so happy?   When she departed from this world, she had such a bright future ahead of her.  She had a scholarship to the University of Texas, where I believe, if I remember correctly, she wanted to study Animal Science.  She was beautiful inside and out, with many talents, and a strong heart for the Lord.  A true light was snuffed out way too early.

I have another cousin who is 26.  She recently graduated from college, placed 5th in the Miss Florida USA pageant, and is happily single, free as a bird, beautiful and out living life to it’s fullest. 

 

How fresh the wounds of eight years ago suddenly feel again, as I reflect on what could have been,  as well as selfishly pondering what should have been for “Belle” as well.  I mean, I know it was God’s will and have accepted it and have even seen Him glorified and magnified through our loss.  Therefore, it matters not, what I felt “should have been”, I absolutely accept what IS.

 

It is not within our power to extend life or to bring the dead back to life.  We cannot turn back  time or stop it.  Time flies when we’re having fun and drags on when we’re miserable, and somehow it manages to iron out the wrinkles within the constraints of our frames and linear definitions.  However, certain events and people become suspended on the time lines, bound by monumental events and scarring memories.

It is not until someone comes and shakes the snow globe, that we realize how quickly the time has passed.   Once again we settle, time and time again, into a rhythm, a set pattern through our daily existence, until the next memorable event unfolds.  It then remains in stasis to visit in memory from time to time.  So, in recognizing my cousin’s maturing age, I was offered another opportunity to reflect upon the multifaceted aspects of time.

 

In the beginning was the Word and the Word was with God and the Word was God.  (John 1:1)

I am the Alpha and the Omega, the First and the Last, the Beginning and the End.  (Revelation 22:13)

 

The only way I reckon we can ever break through the time-space continuum is through a timeless relationship with the Whole of it.  God is the beginning and the end and everything in between.  By embracing all of Him, (through the acceptance of Jesus Christ as your personal Savior and Hero) and by allowing His power to flow through you,  (through the activation of the Holy Spirit within you), you overcome the earthly limits of time due to the gift of eternal life.

 

“Belle” lives on, whether at age 18 or 26, she knows now, the full power and grace of our Lord Jesus Christ and lives in Heaven, with fullness of Love and basking in the rays of Abba’s Holy Light.  She is no longer constrained by the earthly limits of time and space.  When I think of her, I always imagine her smiling, and emitting this powerful light.  There is a certain bird that sings a sweet song  that always brings her to my heart.  Until we meet again beyond Heaven’s gates, I gladly accept such precious reminders of my cousin.

Do you enjoy such comforts?  Do you know the source?  I hope so.  But if not, and you long for such peace, hope and joy even within sorrow, I’ll be glad to share more about our Father’s love for you with you.  Just leave a message below.

 

Until next time,

Vaya con Dios

 

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. The sentiments you write in this blog entry reminded me of this Trusted passage in Scripture:

    Joh 14:23 Jesus answered and said unto him, If a man love me, he will keep my words: and my Father will love him, and we will come unto him, and make our abode with him.
    Joh 14:24 He that loveth me not keepeth not my sayings: and the word which ye hear is not mine, but the Father’s which sent me.
    Joh 14:25 These things have I spoken unto you, being yet present with you.
    Joh 14:26 But the Comforter, which is the Holy Ghost, whom the Father will send in my name, he shall teach you all things, and bring all things to your remembrance, whatsoever I have said unto you.
    Joh 14:27 Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you: not as the world giveth, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.
    Joh 14:28 Ye have heard how I said unto you, I go away, and come again unto you. If ye loved me, ye would rejoice, because I said, I go unto the Father: for my Father is greater than I.
    Joh 14:29 And now I have told you before it come to pass, that, when it is come to pass, ye might believe.
    Joh 14:30 Hereafter I will not talk much with you: for the prince of this world cometh, and hath nothing in me.
    Joh 14:31 But that the world may know that I love the Father; and as the Father gave me commandment, even so I do. Arise, let us go hence.

    God bless you. =)

Leave a Reply

