Skip to content

Something Came to me Last Night

January 15, 2013

My second oldest son really wants to be in the Armed Forces.  I’ve always known that  this would be his road, but only last night did I truly understand which Arm he would be serving.  We were talking about current world events and how sometimes, not everything is as it seems.  We talked about the hour.  That Jesus could come at any moment, and that is why we are preparing right now.

Suddenly, it hit me.  I was listening…okay, trying to listen to him explain some military tactics from a movie he watched and it dawned on me that with the talk of civil war looming, my sons all could very well end up seeing combat in our own front yard.  Then I had a light bulb moment so to speak.  The battle has already begun.  We’re already in the trenches.  We are serving in the Lord’s Army.  The final graduation preparations are in order.  Boot camp is ending fast.   Jesus will come and we will join His heavenly army in the battle of our lives.

I turned to my boy and said, “J, You will serve in the Army.  It’s just not the Army you are thinking of.  You will serve in the Lord’s Army.  You are already in training, right now!”

 

His Word is your most powerful weapon.  The steadfast love of the Lord is your strength.  Sharpen your swords, for the time is here.

They may succeed at taking away our rights, our weapons, even our very homes and life as we know it, but they can never take away our Sword.  Many may fall to the left and right.  The heart may wrench in ways you’ve never known.  But they cannot harm you who is protected in the Shadow of the Lord.  In my soul, I have felt an underlying current only to be described as mourning.  This feeling has been strong on me for several years as I have watched things progressively get worse, taking shape for this very moment in time.

On Sunday, January 20st, our president will take the oath, behind closed doors, in private, for his second term.  We will not be privy to the ceremony or what it will entail.  But these are dark times.  The word ceremony has many implications.  This is all I will say about this.  On Monday, January 21st,  he will publicly make the oath, undoubtedly with his hand upon God’s Holy Word, and “officially” accept his responsibilities as president for his second term.

All I can say right now, is to pray.

I know.  I say that about everything.  Well that is what we need to do.  Pray about everything.  Pray without ceasing.  Pray that stubborn hearts will be broken and brought back to the one who gave them the breath of life.   Most importantly, cloak yourself in the armor found in Ephesians 6 and hold your shield of faith high to protect yourself from the enemy’s advances.

 

May the peace of God come unto you and your home.  May you be blessed to know His ways.  Keep your sword at your side.

Until Next Time,

 

Vaya con Dios

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

