Skip to content

I’ll Meet You At Cornerstone and King

January 27, 2015

My title sounds like a corner where two streets intersect, and in fact, the title is directional, in The Way.  I hope to meet you all on the corner of Cornerstone and King one day, when the Kingdom has come.

I may be a sentimental old fool, but there’s no harm in that.  I enjoy retelling the impactful events of my life, and every day of my life, I appreciate, more and more, my solid, strong, and deeply rooted heritage.  I have shared before, that my grandparents not only lived in the same town, but they also went to the same church.

They raised up their families in that church and as youth, Mama and Daddy met and fell in love, and eventually got married, in that church.  At one time, my aunt’s father was pastor of that church, and my grandfather still serves as deacon.  When my husband and I moved our family, we joined my sister and my dear nephew, who had also recently moved to the south east Texas town, in attending and becoming members of that church, for the period we were in that area of Texas.

When I was growing up, I’d get to go to that church with my grandparents.  I LOVE THESE MEMORIES! I sat with Dad’s parents, while Mama’s parents sang in the choir.  They made me proud to be their granddaughter and I grew so comfortable in the little Baptist church.  And oh how, as the years past, I grew to love that little church all the more.  It serves as a meeting place for both sides of our family, to this day.  And we’ve always been so blessed during those special events, with complete peace and an overflow of joy.  But that church and fellowship hall were not built in a day, nor can it ever possibly keep itself up.

I remember being amazed when I got to learn the history of the little sanctuary.  In 1960, the little church started as a set of Army tents on a piece of rental property.  Not without struggle, but through much prayer and perseverance and God-sends, like the Scottish bricklayer and a sweet member’s amazing generosity and more, this little church was able to procure four acres of land, right where the tents sat, and the church sits to this day.

Sometimes I think I was born from that church.  I know if that church hadn’t been here, I wouldn’t either.  So whether reflected on record or not, I consider myself a lifelong member.  I am just as at home there, as I am at my grandparent’s house.  I can enter the doors at any time and never feel like a stranger.

Just as the Scotsman began encasing the building by laying the first brick, that little church was the first brick laid to build my faith.  And in case you missed it, we are called to serve the Master Carpenter, otherwise known as the Cornerstone, or by name, He is best known as Jesus Christ, Lord and Savior and All Mighty King.

Isaiah 28:16 Therefore thus says the Lord GOD, “Behold, I am laying in Zion a stone, a tested stone, A costly cornerstone for the foundation, firmly placed. He who believes in it will not be disturbed.

1 Peter 2:7-8 This precious value, then, is for you who believe; but for those who disbelieve, “THE STONE WHICH THE BUILDERS REJECTED, THIS BECAME THE VERY CORNER stone,” and, “A STONE OF STUMBLING AND A ROCK OF OFFENSE”; for they stumble because they are disobedient to the word, and to this doom they were also appointed.

Acts 4:10-12 Let it be known to all of you and to all the people of Israel, that by the name of Jesus Christ the Nazarene, whom you crucified, whom God raised from the dead–by this name this man stands here before you in good health. “He is the STONE WHICH WAS REJECTED by you, THE BUILDERS, but WHICH BECAME THE CHIEF CORNER stone. “And there is salvation in no one else; for there is no other name under heaven that has been given among men by which we must be saved.”

Ephesians 2:20-22 having been built on the foundation of the apostles and prophets, Christ Jesus Himself being the corner stone, in whom the whole building, being fitted together, is growing into a holy temple in the Lord, in whom you also are being built together into a dwelling of God in the Spirit.

He is our foundation on which we build our lives.  The Solid Rock, unlike science, His Word and Truths never change.  He set the course for us by example, Word, and His Love.  And He told us He was coming back, and when you read in the Bible of the warnings to the people of that day and of the many signs and wonders, it is clear to see that we are living in the days of Noah.

We, His people can see it through the painful, sin-laden paths so many of those we love head off on, as well as through the filth blasted into our ears and eyes on the daily.   Many nations suffer needlessly the war games of the powerful leaders and when we hear of the horrific account of the sex slave trades and satanic rings with their abominable rituals and all of the suffering in this world, we see the darkness overcoming our planet and some of us just want to crawl in a hole and shut down.  *raises hand sheepishly*

I have to remind myself that this world is temporary and that I’m key in being instrumental in the construction and building of the Kingdom to Come. I think that’s why we have verses that remind us not to be discouraged, but to persevere. And that we are reminded by Jesus Himself, that we will be hated, as he was.  We all have our place in Jesus’ work crew, and we have all been called to bring His Good News to the ends of the earth.  And it’s pretty obvious people are in need of some good news, right? Nothing should bring us more joy and contentment than serving the King, so please don’t starve yourself of such fulfillment, but instead go forth and share Jesus!

Gal. 6:9   So let’s not get tired of doing what is good. At just the right time we will reap a harvest of blessing if we don’t give up.

Psalm 126:5  Those who sow with tears will reap with songs of joy.

Matthew 10:22  You will be hated by everyone because of me, but the one who stands firm to the end will be saved.

1 Cor. 15:58  Therefore, my dear brothers and sisters, stand firm. Let nothing move you. Always give yourselves fully to the work of the Lord, because you know that your labor in the Lord is not in vain.

2  Cor. 4:1Therefore, since through God’s mercy we have this ministry, we do not lose heart.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

